top of page

Journal of a Jamerican: First Time Fishing!


When I was about ten years old, my dad took my brother, Mike, and I fishing for the first time. But there was no boat on a lake or even fishing rods.


We fished at Jones Beach in Nassau County, about twenty minutes outside of New York City. In many ways, it was a typical family outing to the beach during summer.


However, instead of finding a spot in the main area of the beach, we’d go to the far end where there was a stone ledge that was part of a wall leading to a pier. We’d set up our blanket and umbrella on the sand and then sit on the stone ledge, upon the other side of which was pretty deep water, to fish.


Rather than using poles, my dad showed Mike and I how he’d learned to fish in Jamaica: he’d tied fishing lines around three five-inch-long wooden rods, a small anchor weight and hook attached at the end of each.

After showing us how to cast the line into the water, my dad showed us how to hold the line over the side of our index finger so we could feel even the slightest tug. He explained how it was not possible to feel this on a fishing rod.

Once I got the hang of casting the line, I sat and waited to feel a tug. When it came the first time, I got so excited and pulled my line in… only to discover it was a crab.


I caught two more crabs that day. Other times I’d feel a tug and pull my line in only to see my bait had been eaten.

At one point I was disappointed we’ d have to leave before I caught a fish. Then it happened. I felt the familiar tug. Trying not to get too excited, I gently but firmly began to reel in my line, tying it back on my spool. Soon, I could see a fish wriggling near the surface of the water, getting closer and closer until I could pull it out of the water. I’d finally caught my first fish!


I was smiling from ear to ear the entire ride home, elated that my first fishing experience had been a success.

The next morning, my mom prepared the fish for me to eat as my breakfast and let me tell you, it was the most delicious fish I’d ever eaten! I learned right then there is nothing like the taste of fish you’ve caught yourself.


I’m super excited for you to meet Raymond, an ambitious boy from Jamaica who can’t wait to move to America, in my new picture book, “It’ll be Irie” arriving July 1st, 2023! Here’s a link for more info: https://cardinalrulepress.com/collections/new-releases-coming-soon/products/itll-be-irie




Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page